Safari Tour: Amateur Jay Sandhu floors pros at Muthaiga

  • February 7, 2021
  • 0
Share this story

Strokeplay champion Jay Sandhu produced a blistering three under par 68 to upstage seasoned pros on the opening day of the Safari Tour eighth leg at the par 71 Muthaiga Golf Club. A superb round of four birdies and one bogey saw the experienced Sandhu take a one shot overnight lead.

“I have really been working on fitness and endurance. I am also putting in a lot of work in the weak aspects of my game notably putting and iron play. I would like to have solid games in the remaining rounds of the Tour so that I can get to Kenya Open with good momentum,” said Sandhu whose played level par on the front nine and three under par on the back nine.

Mohit Mediratta was the best ranked pro after carding an impressive two under 69 for a rare appearance at the top echelons of the leaderboard. Though he will start tomorrows’ round only one shot behind Sandhu, he will be wary of newcomer Zambia’s Dayne Moore who’s debut round of one under par 70 was a dream start by all standards.

Mohit Mediratta

The arrival of Moore is a breath of fresh air in the Tour as he will no doubt inject the much needed competition. The 28 year old Zambian is a perennial participant on the Sunshine Tour where he is currently in position 139 on the Order of Merit.

Sixty four players including six amateurs were drawn for the first round for the penultimate Safari Tour leg whose winner will pocket Kshs 150,000.

Action continues tomorrow when man of the moment Zimbabwe’s Robson Chinhoi starting five shots behind the leader will be seeking to gather momentum to charge up the leaderboard. Veteran Dismas Indiza is also within striking distance having carded one over par 72 to settle for fifth position one shot behind CJ Wangai. It will also be a massive test for home player Greg Snow who’s three over par 74 performance today left him with a mountain to climb in T15 position.

Apart from Zambia’s Moore, other new faces at Muthaiga include Ghana’s Issah Adams and Malawi’s duo of Visitor Mapwanya and Victor Kachepatsonga.


1              Jay Sandhu                         -3

2              Mohi Mediratta                 -2

3              Dayne Moore                    -1

4              C J Wangai                           0

5              Dismas Indiza                     +1

5              Simon Ngige                       +1

5              Nelson Mudanyi                +1

8              Isiah Otuke                         +2

8              Erick Ooko                       +2

8              Robson Chinhoi                +2

8              Ganeev Giddie                   +2

8              Gift Willy                            +2

8              Brian Njoroge                     +2

8              Andrew Odoh                   +2                          

Share this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.