Uganda Open: Kenyans dominate top 10 as Chinhoi wins title

  • December 6, 2020
  • 0
Share this story

Zimbabwe’s Robson Chinhoi (pictured above) completed a clean sweep today winning the Uganda Open title 10 shots ahead of his challengers as the event came to a close at Uganda Golf Club.

On the way to registering his maiden victory, Chinhoi kept his cool to card five under par 67 today to crown a remarkable performance that saw him play all the four rounds under par. Save for the first day when he finished second, one shot behind the overnight leader, Chinhoi has been in a rich vein of form dominating the subsequent three rounds playing scintillating golf at Kitante.

Samuel Njoroge

In a case of closing the stable door after the horse has bolted, Kenya’s Samuel Njoroge produced the day’s best round of six under par 66, a result that did little to threaten Chinhoi. The result however moved him to third position finishing the week three under par, a decent return on his debut at the event.

A consistent run by Uganda’s Deo Akope and Philip Kasozi saw the home players finish second and fifth respectively putting a smile on the faces of the handful local fans who accessed the venue. Defending champion Zambia’s Madalitso Muthiya had an underwhelming tournament finishing fourth, two under par, ahead of multiple winner Dismas Indiza.

The much anticipated three-way duel between Indiza, Muthiya and South Africa’s former champion Joshua Seale failed to materialize despite Seale producing a superb 66 closing round, which catapulted him to the eight position.

Uganda has remained a jinxed venue for Kenya’s top ranked player Greg Snow who endured an inconsistent run to finish seventh, two over par. Eric Ooko and David Wakhu retained their top 10 status despite closing rounds of 73 and 77 for a T10 finish.

Five players from Kenya finished in the top 10.  

1          CHINHOI ROBSON (ZW)     -15

2          AKOPE DEO (UG)                 -5

3          CHEGE S. NJOROGE (KE)  -3

4          MUTHIYA MADALITSO (ZM)           -2

5          KASOZI PHILLIP (UG)          -1

6          INDIZA DISMAS (KE)                         0

7          SNOW GREG (KE)                 +2

8          SEALE JOSHUA (SA)              +3

9          RUGUMAYO RONALD (UG)               +4

T10      OBURA OOKO ERIC (KE)        +7

T10      WAKHU DAVID (KE)                 +7

Share this story

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.